7th WCCT – Letter No. 2





7 W C C T

2001-2003

LETTER No. 2



Question by Russia

Section A, 2-movers

Question:

The definition goes "Two of the thematic groups may show the same
theme but be clearly recognizable as separate systems." But if a problem
has 4 systems, may 3 of them show the same theme recognizable as different
systems (for example black correction of different pieces)? Will all four
systems be accepted as thematic?

Answer:

Three thematic groups showing the same theme are not thematic irrespective
of the overall number of systems. In the hypothetical case described by the
question only two of the three systems showing the same theme (in addition
to the system showing a different theme) may be regarded as thematic.

Questions by Great Britain

Section A, 2-movers

Question:

It is this: Must the variations yield only single White mates, or are dual/triple
etc. combinations of mates also permitted?

Answer:

Multiple combinations of mates that make sense as a thematic system are permitted.

Question:

If dual/triple etc. combinations of mates are permitted after one or more
variations within a thematic group, may the same mate appear within the same
thematic group, differently combined with other mates; for example in a threefold
variation group comprising: after 1…x 2. mates AB, after 1…y 2. mates
BC, after 1…z 2.mates AC?

Answer:

Yes, this kind of combination is allowed.

Questions by Yugoslavia

Section A, 2-movers

Question:

All examples present black thematical motives. Does it mean that "white
themes" (Albino, white promotions, mates by pinned piece, etc) should
be treated as less thematical, or non-thematical?

Answer:

The so called "white themes" (as characterized by the question)
are thematic and should be treated in the same manner as "black themes"
are treated.

Section C, more-movers

Question:

In the only example, the second thematical white piece could not physically
approach the vacated thematical field in less then 2 moves. Is the next example
thematical? K.Haneman, 1sr Pr. "Skakbladet", 1953. W:Kf3,Rg1,Be3,Sg5
(4) Bl:Kh2, Ra8,Be5,Sc6,Sd5,Pd4,f4,h3 (8) 1.Ke4! (2.Sf3#) Sf6+ 2.Kf5 Se7+
3. Ke6 Ra6+ 4.Kf7 and 5.Sf3#, etc. WS could come to the vacated field f3 in
the second move, but is prevented to do so till the last move. Is this less
thematical or nonthematical example?

Answer:

The immediate threat 2.Sf3 in the Hannemann example is not thematic because
it uses the vacation of f3 on the next move. However, the arrival of Sg5 at
f3 is thematic on any of the subsequent moves (moves 3,4,5).

Questions by Czech Republic

Section C, more-movers

Question:

Is it allowed for a black piece to enter the thematic square which was
released by a white men for another white men? Is it even possible then capture
this black piece by entering white men on this thematic square?

Answer:

Yes, this is allowed.

Question:

Is it possible to enter the thematic square by a white men in the mating
move?

Answer:

Yes, it is allowed.

Question by Ukraine:

Section G, fairy

Question:

The formulation "one and the only complete set of the chess pieces"
can be treated as obligation that 8 pieces from both sides must be present
on the chessboard. And only the bishops may be one-squared (one-colored) that
is one of them may be promoted. In this case for the legality of the setting
there must be not more than seven (7) pawns on the chessboard.

If there are seven (7) white pieces on the chess board then it is asked if
the pawn on the seventh line can be promoted into the missing piece?

Must the concept "the only complete set of the chess pieces" be
treated only as reflexial promotion of the pawn of the types (ordinary and
sleeping) obligatory following after withdrawing of any piece, present on
the diagram?

Answer:

It is not required that all 8 officers (pieces which are not pawns) are present
on the board.

– If one officer is missing, then a pawn arriving at the promotion rank is
immediately (and automatically) promoted to the missing officer.

– If more than one officer are missing, then a pawn arriving at the promotion
rank is immediately promoted to one of missing officers (as chosen by the
promoting side).

– If two bishops of the same color are on the board, one of them has obviously
been promoted. Thus, 8 pawns on the board are illegal in this case.

– A pawn arriving at the promotion rank remains dormant ("sleeping")
ONLY when all 8 officers of its color are on the board (NOTE: this refers
to Type 2!).

Gevgelija, 22.06.2002

Best wishes,

Director of 7WCCT

ZIVKO JANEVSKI

P.BOX 163, 1480 Gevgelija

Macedonia

zivko@mt.net.mk


Invitation by Z. Janevski


Some words from the WCCT Subcommittee


Themes

Rules

Using Popeye for checking single box problems

Letter No. 1


Comments are closed.