FIDE Album 2001-2003 Announcement

FIDE Album 2001-2003

Composers are invited to submit their highest-quality compositions for selection for this Album. Entry is open to compositions published during the years 2001-2003. Those who published large numbers of compositions during this period are strongly urged to make a selection consisting of only their very best work. Note that in the case of formal tourneys the date of publication, not the closing date for entries, is decisive. However, compositions published in the award of the 7th WCCT (closing date 1 March 2003) are eligible for this Album. Problems from the 6th WCCT were considered for the 1998-2000 Album and are therefore not eligible.

5 copies of each entry are required. They must be clearly stamped or printed on diagrams on paper of A5 size and normal thickness, one entry per sheet, with the composer’s full name and address, the place and year of original publication, the award (if any), and the full solution on the same side as the diagram. If necessary, the solution may be continued on a second sheet – not on the back of the diagram – with the composer’s name and the position of the Ks repeated. Entries not complying with these requirements may be rejected.

Entries should be sent by post (NB not by email) to the Section Directors as listed below, postmarked not later than 31.8.2005.

The PCCC makes the following recommendations:

  1. Anyone entering compositions by another composer should, where possible, obtain the agreement of that composer beforehand.
  2. Cyrillic names and addresses of composers should be written in Cyrillic capital letters and preferably also transcribed into Latin letters.
  3. The source of each composition should, if possible, include not only the magazine and year of publication but also the month or magazine number and/or the number of the composition.
  4. Computer-tested compositions should be indicated by the symbol C+.
  5. Unusual fairy forms should be defined.


Director: Udo Degener, Stephensonstr. 47, D-14482 Potsdam, Germany.
Judges: Juraj Brabec, Viktor Chepizhny, Viktor Melnichenko.


Director: Henk le Grand, Heimanslaan 5, NL-6705 AD Wageningen, Netherlands.
Judges: Roland Baier, Valery Shavyrin, Martin Wessels.


Director: Mikhail Marandyuk, str. Chapaeva 25/23, 60300 Novoselitsa, Chernivtsy region, Ukraine.
Judges: Hans Peter Rehm, Yakov Vladimirov, Klaus Wenda.


Endgame studies
Director: Harold van der Heijden, Michel de Klerkstraat 28, NL-7425 DG Deventer, Netherlands.
Judges: Amatzia Avni, David Gurgenidze, Nikolaï Kralin.


Director: Paz Einat, 45a Moshe Levi Street, Nes Ziona, IL-74207 Israel (not valid until 1.1.05).
Judges: H#2 – Chris Feather, Valery Gurov, Mario Parrinello
H#2.5+ – Fadil Abdurahmanovic, Harry Fougiaxis, Christopher Jones.


Director: Andreï Selivanov, 125475 Moscow, P.Box 46, Russia.
Judges: Uri Avner, Zivko Janevski, Petko Petkov.


Director: Theodor Tauber, 4 Galin Street, IL-49508 Petah Tikva, Israel.
Judges: Georgy Evseev, Paul Rãican, Manfred Rittirsch.


Director: Thierry le Gleuher, 34 rue de la Lignière, F-37540 SAINT CYR SUR LOIRE, France.
Judges: Gianni Donati, Hans Gruber, Andreï Kornilov.

John Rice (President, FIDE PCCC)
Kjell Widlert (Spokesman, Subcommittee)


Comments are closed.