Olympic Chess Composing Tourney 2012

Olympic Chess Composing Tourney 2012 

The International Chess Federation (FIDE) within the framework of its “Chess Composition” special project and in co-operation with the Turkish Chess Federation announce an Olympic chess composing tourney in 8 sections, dedicated to the World Chess Olympiad 2012 in Istanbul.

The tournament is co-ordinated with the WFCC Presidium and is a part of the joint efforts by FIDE and WFCC for the popularization and development of chess composition worldwide.

The tournament sections and judges are as follows:

  A. Twomovers   Judge: Anatoly Vasilenko (Ukraine)   Award
  B. Threemovers   Judge: Miodrag Mladenovic (Serbia)   Award
  C. Moremovers   Judge: Yakov Vladimirov (Russia)   Award
  D. Endgame studies   Judge: Oleg Pervakov (Russia)   Award
  E. Helpmates   Judge: Nikola Stolev (Macedonia)   Award
  F. Selfmates   Judge: Diyan Kostadinov (Bulgaria)   Award
  G. Fairies   Judge: Juraj Lörinc (Slovakia)   Award
  H. Retros and Proofgames   Judge: Bernd Graefrath (Germany)   Award

In each section, only one composition from each author is acceptable; joint compositions are not allowed.

The themes are free in all sections, and any number of moves is acceptable in the h#, s#, fairies and retros sections. In the fairies section only problems computer-tested by one of the programs Alybadix, Popeye or WinChloe are allowed; the participants should mention the program they have used for testing their composition.

The director of the tournament is IGM Petko A. Petkov (FIDE international judge), who will not participate as author or judge in the tournament.

Entries (preferably in WORD format, but other formats are also acceptable) can be sent by e-mail only to the director’s address at ppetkowmail.orbitel.bg

Participants should mention their postal address in the e-mail.

The closing date is May 1st, 2012.

The director will send all compositions to the judges on standardized anonymous diagrams by May 15th, 2012. All the judges should prepare their awards by July 15th, 2012.

The results will be published on the Internet by August 1st, 2012 and they will be declared final after two months allowed for claims of anticipation and unsoundness.

The best compositions in each section will be awarded with prizes, honourable mentions and commendations, as well as FIDE certificates and Olympic medals.

All participants will receive a copy of the booklet with the final awards.

Comments are closed.